Introduction Post

My name is Garrett Winchilla and I do not have a very strong background in psychology. I took a psych class in high school but it provided an overview of the field rather than detailed analysis of certain experiments and research. I chose to take this class and become a psychology major because I loved the field and wanted to learn more after every class of the high school level course.

What I am looking forward to most in this class after reviewing the syllabus is Moral development, Chemicals & Consciousness, and Coping with stress. Two of these topics were lightly touched in high school but interested me and the third I never learned about before. It is difficult to choose three topics I am least interested in because a vast part of the field fascinates me. However, if I had to choose three topics from the course schedule I would choose Classifying mental illness, psychiatric medication, and How to choose a therapist.

By the end of this class I want to know the most effective way of communication including tone, facial expression, body language, etc. In this generation so much communication happens digitally that some have completely forgot how to communicate, and some never learned at all. By learning this I can help my overall communicative skills and pass that on to others.

One thought on “Introduction Post

  1. Welcome to the course Garrett. I’m glad to hear you’re so excited for the course and your high school experience seemed to spark such a strong interest. We will be talking about verbal and nonverbal communication this semester, with special consideration for cultural variations in the interpretation of non-verbals. There has been a ton of cool research on how social media use is affecting all of our communication skills, with mixed results. In addition to courses in psychology, there is a course in the social work department called Multicultural Counseling Skills (SW 280), where you get a lot of fantastic information about communication styles in many different cultures. A lot of our psychology majors take it and have given it really positive reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment